Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

  1. #1
    Member Member Babij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Hello, I have been playing MTW for about a year now, and I have started messing around with the game files. Anyway, I came across this file called Z_Stats. Apparently it's supposed to show game stats, but when I look at it, it hasn't got anything filled in. Here's some of the text:


    Longest Ruling King
    Successful Assassinations
    Most in a single year 0
    Total 0
    Men Lost To Assassins
    Most in a single year 0
    Total 0
    Men Killed In Battle
    Most in a Single Battle 0
    Total 0


    Anyway, I have recently reinstalled the game, and I haven't finished my campaign yet, so maybe I need to finish the campaign before it shows the stats? Any help would be appreciated. Also, is there a preferences text anywhere? I could swear I came across it before...

    BTW, I've made an interesting mod, which make archers a little more powerful, but they have less ammo. It really makes the game more interesting. Also I tweaked naptha throwers and gave them a few metres extra range, now they're much more effective! I don't like to overdo it though, or it will make the game too easy. Heh, anyway it's fun tweaking the game to your own liking.

    Also, I definitely like MTW better than RTW. The strategic map has a better feel, and the battles are much more interesting, the only real glitch I've come across in battles is my gun infantry sometimes not firing, maybe I did something wrong in the projectile stats...
    Programmer for Pirates Of Ashlen, a 2D RPG project.
    Check Out Our Website!
    Our Official Board
    The RPG Toolkit

  2. #2
    Member Member Babij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Damn... It appears I can't edit my message.

    I've got another, possibly stupid question... Why do I have two avatars?
    Here's a pic:


    Again, thanks for any help.
    Programmer for Pirates Of Ashlen, a 2D RPG project.
    Check Out Our Website!
    Our Official Board
    The RPG Toolkit

  3. #3
    Member Member Babij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Hmm, It would seem nobody can answer my question...
    Could a mod move this to the MTW main hall? Or close it if you must...
    Programmer for Pirates Of Ashlen, a 2D RPG project.
    Check Out Our Website!
    Our Official Board
    The RPG Toolkit

  4. #4
    The Black Senior Member Papewaio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    15,670

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Will move...
    Our genes maybe in the basement but it does not stop us chosing our point of view from the top.
    Quote Originally Posted by Louis VI the Fat
    Pape for global overlord!!
    Quote Originally Posted by English assassin
    Squid sources report that scientists taste "sort of like chicken"
    Quote Originally Posted by frogbeastegg View Post
    The rest is either as average as advertised or, in the case of the missionary, disappointing.

  5. #5
    The hair proves it... Senior Member EatYerGreens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Above the greengrocer's
    Posts
    851

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Babij,

    Regrettably I can't provide any helpful answers about this and just wished to register my own curiosity about what exactly it's for. I was aware of it's existence before you mentioned it but hadn't thought to comment.

    All I can add is that the date/timestamp on my copy of the file seems to coincide with the date I installed the Viking Invasion expansion, so I presume that's where it came from.

    There are a number of possibilities I can see for it: -
    1) It only registeres data when you run a Vikings campaign and stays blank if you only ever play the patched MTW
    2) It's a new addition to MTW, part of the patch and works for both games
    3) It could be something which remains inert until a specific 'cheatcode' is used, which activates in-game debugging/event logging. In other words, it's a file used by the game developers to monitor game events, which strayed onto the master CD accidentally, or else it needs to be present on the HDD, so the code only has to modify and overwrite it, not create it fresh, on first use.
    4) Like you suggested, it only ever gets filled in when you completely finish a campaign, with the data being stored in the gamesaves until that time.

    With luck, one of the CA folks will spot the thread and make a comment.


    @ Papewaio
    Is this thread here (MTW Main Hall, at time of writing) *after* you moved it, or is it about to be shunted off elsewhere?

    EYG

    ________________________
             

  6. #6
    Member Member Babij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Thanks for responding.
    Hmm, it would appear that this is quite the mystery.
    I think it first appears when you install the vanilla patch. Maybe it was something added at the last minute that didn't work. It would be nice to have a list of stats of your game...
    Programmer for Pirates Of Ashlen, a 2D RPG project.
    Check Out Our Website!
    Our Official Board
    The RPG Toolkit

  7. #7

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Playing around with game files ey ?!

    hehe, moved to Modding Dojo.

    -Mithrandir.
    Abandon all hope.

  8. #8
    Member Member Babij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: MTW: Help with Z_Stats

    Lol, I'm getting kinda dizzy. Anyway, the file setup seems to be much like a battle log file, where the computer will create/modify it, and you must go into the folder yourself to obtain the information. Due to the lack of variables, I don't think it would be displayed in the game. I still don't have much of a clue, though.
    Programmer for Pirates Of Ashlen, a 2D RPG project.
    Check Out Our Website!
    Our Official Board
    The RPG Toolkit

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO