Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 64

Thread: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

  1. #1
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Sorry to post many posts, but as this is the final working release I didn't want it to get clogged up with the tests in the previous threads.

    This new version allows more than one winter a year.
    The problem with the beta version was a slight syntax error which has been corrected.

    Instructions - How to install:

    Download

    Put export_descr_advice.txt under the data folder (make a backup of the current one first)

    Then use the script generator to generate a script to your liking.
    The script will be generated in c:\ so you must copy it to data\scripts\show_me

    Installation complete!
    Instructions - How to use:

    This script must be run manually after every time you load the game or start a new game. To run the script, press escape so that the campaign menu appears. Press the question mark in the top right hand corner. Press the Show me how button on the advisor.

    Play away Remember, you must activate it on every load.
    Notes

    This mod can be used in combination with any other mod. Mod developpers who wish to include this script in their mod are free to do so so long as they contact me and give credit in their mod release.

    Enjoy!
    -Myrddraal

  2. #2
    Member Member Stuie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper Gwynedd, PA
    Posts
    406

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Ave, Myrddraal!! Thanks for that!

    So is "suspend_unscripted_advice true" not required at all? I thought I read somewhere it was necessary at least at the top, and possibly every turn....


    Edit: four years at the org and I've finally reached my 200th post!
    Last edited by Stuie; 08-09-2005 at 04:05.

  3. #3

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Great, Myrddraal, thanks a lot.

    Stuie
    I believe the "suspend_unscripted_advice true" is only needed depending on what trigger you're using. If you use Myrddraal's standard F1 + help + showmehow trigger, then I don't think there should be any need to suspend advice.
    Epistolary Richard's modding Rules of Cool
    Cool modders make their mods with the :mod command line switch
    If they don't, then Cool mod-users use the Mod Enabler (JSGME)
    Cool modders use show_err
    Cool modders use the tutorials database Cool modders check out the Welcome to the Modding Forums! thread Cool modders keep backups Cool modders help each other out

  4. #4

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Myrddraal,

    Maybe this could be setup to run when clicking the Next turn button instead of the Advisor button?

    Think its possible? That would prevent the User from having to click the advisor each time they play?

    Lt
    LT_1956 Creator of SPQR: Total War


    SPQR:TW Mod forums

  5. #5

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    A script needs to be activated to take effect. The only way to activate a script is right at the start of the game (a campaign script) and through the advisor (a showme script).
    Epistolary Richard's modding Rules of Cool
    Cool modders make their mods with the :mod command line switch
    If they don't, then Cool mod-users use the Mod Enabler (JSGME)
    Cool modders use show_err
    Cool modders use the tutorials database Cool modders check out the Welcome to the Modding Forums! thread Cool modders keep backups Cool modders help each other out

  6. #6

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    The next turn cant activate it?

    Wierd.
    LT_1956 Creator of SPQR: Total War


    SPQR:TW Mod forums

  7. #7
    Insanity perhaps is inevitable Member shifty157's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Well then the script would be activated every turn. Im guessing that would cause it to restart its cycle of seasons every time.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Senior Member Duke John's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,917

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Could this moved to the Forge? It would be a shame to lose this.

  9. #9
    Member Member Dromikaites's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Quote Originally Posted by shifty157
    Well then the script would be activated every turn. Im guessing that would cause it to restart its cycle of seasons every time.
    No need to worry about that - the number of turns already played is saved in the game. So the script identifies which turn is it when it's started and adjusts the season accordingly.

  10. #10

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Ok i must say that i am puzzeled.

    How does it work?

    This is part of the script that maters for 4 winters:

    Code:
    	console_command date 8
    	console_command season winter
    	while I_TurnNumber = 4
    	end_while
    
    	console_command date 8
    	console_command season winter
    	while I_TurnNumber = 5
    	end_while
    
    	console_command date 8
    	console_command season winter
    	monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType slave
    		if I_TurnNumber = 6
    			console_command season summer
    		end_if
    	terminate_monitor
    	end_monitor
    	while I_TurnNumber = 6
    	end_while
    
    	console_command date 8
    	console_command season winter
    	while I_TurnNumber = 7
    	end_while
    So new part is the monitor.
    So is character aging operation performed at the begining of Player turn?
    If so then changing seson back to summer before this is quite clever, but then you are doing it only 1 time out of 4 winters.
    If it would worke this way you would have to do it 3 times.

    So how the heck does it work?

  11. #11

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Nice script. It works in RTR 6.0 but Im not sure it works in 6.1.

    Have you any plans to make a similar script for RTW:BI?

    Yes it is your script that messes up my RTR 6.1 becuase I get this message:

    https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v...cripterror.jpg

    now every time after I installed your script. It looks like there a fault in the export_descr_advice.txt but when I check with an older one I cant see anything wrong in the file.
    Last edited by Mammut; 10-03-2005 at 20:44.

  12. #12

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Myrddraal, got a question about how your script works:

    What is the point of having this:

    console_command date -265
    console_command season summer
    while I_TurnNumber = 20
    end_while
    Isn't that an empty loop? Furthermore, why didn't you code it like this:

    if I_TurnNumber = 20
    console_command date -265
    console_command season summer
    end_if

  13. #13
    Bug Hunter Senior Member player1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    1,403

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Probably because game will see its not 20 turn and finish the script for good.

    Empty loops are there to force game to keep script running in background.
    BUG-FIXER, an unofficial patch for both Rome: Total War and its expansion pack

  14. #14
    Seii Taishōgun 征夷大将軍 Member PROMETHEUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    La Cittą Eterna
    Posts
    2,857

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Hello Myrdaal Can We use ur awesome mod in our Shogun mod We need this absolutely !

    BTW is possible to edit it in a way to have autumn spring winter and summer?

    Creator of Ran no Jidai mod
    Creator of Res Gestae
    Original Creator of severall add ons on RTW from grass to textures and Roman Legions
    Oblivion Modder- DUNE creator
    Fallout 3 Modder
    Best modder , skinner , modeler awards winner.


    VIS ET HONOR

  15. #15

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Geez how the heck does the while loop work in RTW?

  16. #16
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    LorDuBulA

    The reason that bit of script is included is because character ageing is tied to the switch from winter to summer.

    On the first turn, its summer, so at the end of the turn it changes to winter. This switch causes no ageing, so the only code required is the code to change the season back to summer.

    At the end of the second turn, the same switch happens, no code is required therefore.

    On the third turn on the other hand, the switch is from winter to summer, yet we don't want the characters to age. Because of this, we need get rid of that switch. I did this by changing the season just before the switch.

    Finally at the end of the last turn, we want the characters to age anyway, so the code isn't needed.

    Hope that explains it.

    dsrow1

    The purpose of the while loop is to ensure that the script stops until the next turn. Without it, the entire script would run in one turn, leaving you on the final year.

    The if loop is purely for reload purposes. When you load a game and run the script, the script will run from the beginning. It will skip past the while loops as the save game saves the turn number, but without the if loop it would run all the code between the beginning and the current turn.

    PROMETHEUS

    You are very welcome to use this script in your mod. Like all mods, all I want is to be informed (I like to know how many people find the script useful) and possibly a note in the credits or readme or whatever.

    dsyrow1 (again)

    The while loop works as any while loop does. It simply runs the script between while and end_while until the conditions are no longer met. It doesn't run anything else though, so an empty while loop will in effect cause the script to pause until the conditions are no longer true.

    Hope this helps

  17. #17
    Senior Member Senior Member Duke John's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,917

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Could this be moved to the Forge? Wouldn't like to see it swallowed by the Second Page From Hell.

  18. #18

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Myrdraal what have you added to the export_descr_advice.txt file? Im trying to get your mod to work with RTR6.1 and forward.

    I have been looking through the file but I haven't been able to find anything, not that Im saying it isn't there I just not expirienced with modding things eaily slips through.

  19. #19
    Seii Taishōgun 征夷大将軍 Member PROMETHEUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    La Cittą Eterna
    Posts
    2,857

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    A couple of questions , is possible with BI to make the forced reload at every game load be skipped and so autoloaded by the game without needing to do it manually?

    another one is possible to add different theme musics for the different seasons?

    is possible to make new seasonal lightinings? for summer , spring , autumn and winter?

    is possible to edit the climates so to show those changes and in strat map and in battle map with snow covered fields , reddish colours of autumn , flower filled prairies and suburn summer fields?

    Creator of Ran no Jidai mod
    Creator of Res Gestae
    Original Creator of severall add ons on RTW from grass to textures and Roman Legions
    Oblivion Modder- DUNE creator
    Fallout 3 Modder
    Best modder , skinner , modeler awards winner.


    VIS ET HONOR

  20. #20
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Thanks for the reminder DJ, who knows what this is doing in this forum, especially now with the creation of the mod discussion forum...

    The export_descr_advice.txt file contains a single line to run the right script for each faction. Search for "MP_" and you'll find that line.

    Prometheus, I'm not to sure about most of this as I don't have BI yet. I believe that there is a reload event which can be used to trigger the advisor on loading a save game, but the show me how button must still be pressed.

    It might be possible to play different music using the script, I think there is a play sound function.

    As for editing lighting and climates in-game, I'm afraid I don't think its possible...

  21. #21
    Seii Taishōgun 征夷大将軍 Member PROMETHEUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    La Cittą Eterna
    Posts
    2,857

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrddraal
    Thanks for the reminder DJ, who knows what this is doing in this forum, especially now with the creation of the mod discussion forum...

    The export_descr_advice.txt file contains a single line to run the right script for each faction. Search for "MP_" and you'll find that line.

    Prometheus, I'm not to sure about most of this as I don't have BI yet. I believe that there is a reload event which can be used to trigger the advisor on loading a save game, but the show me how button must still be pressed.

    It might be possible to play different music using the script, I think there is a play sound function.

    As for editing lighting and climates in-game, I'm afraid I don't think its possible...


    I asked you this becouse I have seen in the CA files remnants of a previous presence of spring and autumn lightnings and other stuff....


    about music how do i place practically different musics for the different seasons?

    Creator of Ran no Jidai mod
    Creator of Res Gestae
    Original Creator of severall add ons on RTW from grass to textures and Roman Legions
    Oblivion Modder- DUNE creator
    Fallout 3 Modder
    Best modder , skinner , modeler awards winner.


    VIS ET HONOR

  22. #22
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    I'm not sure of the exact syntax yet Prom, but I'll look into it and maybe make a new release.

  23. #23

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Could the same principle be used to make one turn last one month, i.e. twelve turns per year? Considering the movement distances that time period makes more sense to me, plus I“m not sure sieges lasted over years.

  24. #24

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrddraal
    The export_descr_advice.txt file contains a single line to run the right script for each faction. Search for "MP_" and you'll find that line.
    well i sorry to say it but i cant find any line that fit your description, when I tried searching on mp I had to go through every singel temple, ampitheater and and campaign word in the file and well lets say there is a couple of thousand word with the combination mp in that file... not on you...

    I would like to have abit better description on what to search for...

  25. #25

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    search for "MP_", not "MP".

    Myrddraal, question: I can see how your script works, pretty tricky and neat, but here's the thing: people believe the prologue script can't be saved during because it'd be too hard to save all the variables running during a script. But isn't your 4ypt script running throughout the entire game, after you load it? And the game allows you to save during it.

    Prometheus, I think a lot more seasonal variety can be in the game than already exists. For example look at the model for trees in the ITEM folder: there are the winter versions, and the summer versions. Yet in descr_settlement_plan.txt, only ONE name is used to place a tree in a settlement, and it's not called treeA_summer, or treeA_winter, but simply treeA. And so when you search for that treeA, you will see that it's actually specified which model of treeA to use, depending on the climate.
    Last edited by SigniferOne; 10-08-2005 at 21:20.

  26. #26
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    dsyrow1 thats what is neat about the script. It has no user-defined variables. It only uses "I_TurnNumber" which is saved in the save file anyway.

    The script allows you to save whilst playing it because it is run as a show_me. When you quit the game, you have to start it again when you reload, which is where I use the "if I_TurnNumber = " to skip through most of the script till it reaches the point at which you saved it.

  27. #27

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    can '4 turns a year' be used with BI? It's hard to go back to 2 turns a year after playing 4.

  28. #28
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    I don't see why not, but I guess the simple way to find out is to try

  29. #29

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    Quote Originally Posted by dsyrow1
    search for "MP_", not "MP".
    That I did first but the search said that "MP_" doesn't exsist in the document so I tried with searching for "MP" but that didn't turn up anything that I could interpet as the script.

  30. #30
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: 4 turns a year with more than one winter - final release

    sorry, wrong line... I was getting mixed up with the MP campaign I'm working on.... oops

    ;------------------------------------------
    AdviceThread Help_Game_Options_Scroll_Thread
    GameArea Campaign

    Item Help_Game_Options_Scroll_Text_01
    Uninhibitable
    Verbosity 0
    Threshold 1
    Attitude Normal
    Presentation Default
    Title Help_Game_Options_Scroll_Text_01_Title
    Script scripts\show_me\descr_script.txt
    Text Help_Game_Options_Scroll_Text_01_Text1
    Thats the line I added

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO