Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Diplomacy Rules:

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    "Diplomacy Rules" and "Diplomacey FAQ" merged.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    I played Diplomacy last night with a group of my friends and a debate came up about whether or not it was plausible for fleets to conquer or occupy new (coastal) provinces, since we couldn't find it in the rules where it says it could or could not be done. Does anyone who plays the game regularly have an opinion, or know of a place I might have overlooked in the rulebook?

  3. #3
    Headless Senior Member Pannonian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7,978

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    Quote Originally Posted by GoreBag
    I played Diplomacy last night with a group of my friends and a debate came up about whether or not it was plausible for fleets to conquer or occupy new (coastal) provinces, since we couldn't find it in the rules where it says it could or could not be done. Does anyone who plays the game regularly have an opinion, or know of a place I might have overlooked in the rulebook?
    Fleets can influence sea and coastal regions. This includes moving into, occupying, convoying from and supporting coastal regions. You may notice that all fleets start in coastal regions, thus giving an answer to your question. Fleets are only barred from regions with no sea access.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    Indeed, but this in regard to 'invading' previously unclaimed territory, rather than merely keeping a fleet docked at home for defence or what have you.

  5. #5
    Headless Senior Member Pannonian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7,978

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    Quote Originally Posted by GoreBag
    Indeed, but this in regard to 'invading' previously unclaimed territory, rather than merely keeping a fleet docked at home for defence or what have you.
    Coastal regions, whatever their ownership, are the equivalent of sea regions for fleets. In Dip, ownership only matters for SC counts and building units.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    I don't think you understand my inquiry.

  7. #7
    Headless Senior Member Pannonian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7,978

    Default Re: Diplomacy Rules:

    Quote Originally Posted by GoreBag
    I don't think you understand my inquiry.
    If a fleet can move into a territory, it doesn't matter who owned it. The only way of stopping a fleet from moving into a seabound region is to physically occupy it, or bounce it with another unit in an adjoining region. (Lack of) ownership is irrelevant.

    Was this what you meant?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO