Thread: Modding Smaller Armies

Default Modding Smaller Armies

I've never done any modding before, but then I'm hoping that what I want to achieve is a relatively simple task - it sounds like it, or at least it does at first glance...

I like the kind of battles that occur at the start of a campaign - a small number of units on each side. Later in the game, it's as though every battle is fought between thousands of men in dozens of units on each side. Whilst I think that having a pitched battle from time to time is nice, I do not think every battle should be such a slogfest.

So what I am after is some way to keep the size of the typical army low, but not impose any kind of limit on maximum army size. Whilst I'd like to see most battles fought between, say, no more than eight units on each side, having the occasional battle with more units (16 on field and as many reserves as you like) should still be possible.

My first thought was to change the florin costs of units; if units are more expensive to buy - or, perhaps better, cost more in upkeep - then perhaps there will be less of them floating around?

But some potential problems:
    • Would this even work?
    • Do the AI disband units when they are having financial trouble? (I presume so, otherwise where else do all those mercenaries come from?!)
    • Or would this backfrire, leading to games in which armies are the same size but factions cannot afford to upgrade their buildings and thus player and AI alike will never really get to produce the stronger units?
    • What impact would this have on the size of crusade armies (and if these needed to be controlled in order to stop them becoming too powerful, how could that be achieved?)
    • If the AI did disband units, would this put them at something of an unfair advantage (as I send my unwanted units against them rather than simply disbanding them)?