Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

  1. #1

    Default Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    ....resulting in hilarity. Hilarity being, of course, the amazing framerate of 4 frames every 20 seconds or so, resulting in unplayability.

    Fix coming?


  2. #2

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Well known bug, and damned annoying. Happens with ladders too. Really sucks when you have to exit and lose a battle (and a settlement) because of it.

  3. #3
    Insanity perhaps is inevitable Member shifty157's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Actually i find that if you dont mind you can just leave the battle to run out of time. Go run some errands or read a book or watch a movie. It takes a couple hours but youre guaranteed to win the battle because for some reason the pathing never pans out and troops never actually get onto the walls even when there only a couple left.


    Hopefully theyll fix this with the patch.

  4. #4
    Chief Biscuit Monitor Member professorspatula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Inside a shoe.
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    My kingdom for an airstrike!

    All you'd need is one lousy bomb to kill the entire army in one go.

    Curse the medieval inventors and their lack of aviation prowess.
    Improving the TW Series one step at a time:

    BI Extra Hordes & Unlocked Factions Mod: Available here.

  5. #5
    Member Member Musashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The Mists of Legend
    Posts
    811

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    I actually like it when they do that... I don't get the lag problems other people do, and when they're all bunched together like that a hail of arrows and a cavalry charge can easily route their entire army :D
    Fear nothing except in the certainty that you are your enemy's begetter and its only hope of healing. For everything that does evil is in pain.
    -The Maestro Sartori, Imajica by Clive Barker

  6. #6
    Member Member TheImp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Saint Etienne, France
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    It happens as well with town gates. When the AI is attacking your town and destroys the gate, it's like the whole army tries to get inside at once. Last time i was waiting for them near the entrance with spearmen and archers and i had 1 FPS for at least one minute. Very annoying indeed.
    "He could hear her still at times. Promise me, she had cried, in a room that smelled of blood and roses, Promise me, Ned. The fever had taken her strength and her voice had been faint as a whisper, but when he gave her his word, the fear had gone out of his sister's eyes."
    Eddard and Lyanna Stark about Jon Snow Targaryen.

  7. #7
    New Member Member Hamelus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    In southern Sweden.
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Quote Originally Posted by Snarkfarfar
    Happens with ladders too. Really sucks when you have to exit and lose a battle (and a settlement) because of it.
    Probely the AI's cheap tactic.

  8. #8
    Texan Member BigTex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Arlington, Texas, United States of America.
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Happens with ladders also. It kind of happens with gates, the lag isnt as extreme usually. But the massed blob moving through the gates are impossible to stop. If you can get some catapults outside the walls, you can wreak havoc on the "blob". When doing that though always use explosive shells so a miss doesnt damage your walls too much.
    Last edited by BigTex; 11-27-2006 at 20:04.
    Wine is a bit different, as I am sure even kids will like it.
    BigTex
    "Hilary Clinton is the devil"
    ~Texas proverb

  9. #9
    Large Member Member NightStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    ═sland...or Iceland for ye darn foreigners :)
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Funny I had Milan do the exactly the same thing when they were besieging Marseilles.

    I playing the Spanish on H/H was assaulted by Milanese forces, I sent a unit of Jinetes on a suicide mission to take out their cannon. My Cannon Towers had taken out their Trebuchet. That left me to deal with 2 siege towers. My Cannon Towers destroyed one of them but the blasted Milanese managed to get one tower to the walls.

    Luckily for me they all bunched in front of it. I sneakily manouvered one of my Basilisks out of the gate and shot the offending siege tower and destroyed it. After that all hell broke lose.

    The banners on the milanese forces became twitchy and started displacing form one spot to another. The Milanese army units just stood their like they were still trying to go up the siege tower. This gave my towers and crossbowmen ample time to cut down their forces. When I opened the gates and charged them with a unit of mercenary knights they snapped out of their inactivity but it was too late for them then

    When the enemies bunch together like that I suffer a slight drop in framerate...but still easily playable. And I run it on almost max settings
    Last edited by NightStar; 11-27-2006 at 21:53.
    Roma must be destroyed


  10. #10
    Member Member Musashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The Mists of Legend
    Posts
    811

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Yeah... I only get a slight drop in fps.. and I play at 1400x1050 resolution...
    Fear nothing except in the certainty that you are your enemy's begetter and its only hope of healing. For everything that does evil is in pain.
    -The Maestro Sartori, Imajica by Clive Barker

  11. #11
    [Insertwittytitlehere] Member Copperhaired Berserker!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Glasgow, where the neds are in control.
    Posts
    786

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamelus
    Probely the AI's cheap tactic.
    Heh, yeah!

    Human general: "Bring it on, you scalliwags!"

    AI soldier: "My lord, what are your orders?"

    AI general: "Every single one of you climb on thw walls using only one siege tower to get you up!"

    AI soldier: "But sir, Just one enemy calvary charge and we'll all be dead!"

    AI general: "Just do it! This tactic is what I like to call: Framerate fraud!"

    Every single one of the AI soldiers charges up the siege tower.

    Human general: "HAH! What rubbish AI!"

    AI general: "Oh really?"

    Human general: "What the hell do you mean?!"

    Then, suddenly, the frame rate goes down to one frame per minute.

    Human general: "I command like this! That's cheating!"

    AI general: "Now you know how it feels to see your army parked up against the red line, you cheap git!"

    Human general: "I'll get you! I'll ge- *Crashs to desktop*




    If I was smart, I would have a witty punchline in this sig that would make everyone ROTFL.

    I'm not smart.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    You guys are not going to like this but some say it does work. If you open the Gate they will get off that one ladder and should help with the framerates. Of course now you have to defend the gate as well as the Siege towers, or ladders.

    But its better then just quiting and losing that way.

  13. #13
    Join the ICLADOLLABOJADALLA! Member IrishArmenian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Writing the book, every day...
    Posts
    1,986

    Default Re: Milanese attempt to load entire army onto 1 siege tower

    Put unit size to medium, set all graphics settings to low and it shouldn't be much of a problem.

    "Half of your brain is that of a ten year old and the other half is that of a ten year old that chainsmokes and drinks his liver dead!" --Hagop Beegan

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO