Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: I need some patch ?!

  1. #1

    Exclamation I need some patch ?!

    Hi, warriors!

    Please, I need some help.

    In my MTW XL mod, after 1202 (when the game reach 120 years or perhaps near of this date), many units dissapear of the training panel: Varangian swordsmen playing the volga bulgars or the Viking Huscarles playing the Danes, for example. I believe that y don't have some specific patch.

    Who can help me to fix this problem?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Senior Member naut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,103

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    That's because certain units are only available in certain Eras. The soldiers you have mentioned are only buildable before 1205.
    #Hillary4prism

    BD:TW

    Some piously affirm: "The truth is such and such. I know! I see!"
    And hold that everything depends upon having the “right” religion.
    But when one really knows, one has no need of religion. - Mahavyuha Sutra

    Freedom necessarily involves risk. - Alan Watts

  3. #3

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    Ok Rythmic,

    But in the case of the volga bulgars, I remain with a swordsmith (a blade maker) without utility, because I can't train swordsmen. It's no make sense for me. I still can train units with bad equipment and the swordsmith unlearn to make swords? If in the history after 1205 this unit become scarce, the reasons (social, economics) would dissapear in the "history" of the game, who opens a oportunity to rewrite the history. I think that the the game would be more playable without these statements, and we would not be economic with the truth doing so.

    (PS)

    IN PORTUGUESE LANGUAGE

    "realista" = realist, a person who sees life as it is or describes things as they really are .

    But...

    "realista" also means royalist, a person who supports a King.

    Then, if someone only claims to see life as it is (but is misguided), thus, as the phrase goes, it is "mais realista que o rei" (more royalist than the king) .

    It's in these sense, that the restrictive statementes seems to me.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Senior Member naut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,103

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    I will request sincerely that you keep a civil tone. And although Portugal is a beautiful place and has a pretty language, refrain from the rhetoric.

    I understand your frustration at something that you do not agree with. There is a simple way to change the effects of Eras, download the Gnome Editor; then I will give you a step-by-step outline.

    #Hillary4prism

    BD:TW

    Some piously affirm: "The truth is such and such. I know! I see!"
    And hold that everything depends upon having the “right” religion.
    But when one really knows, one has no need of religion. - Mahavyuha Sutra

    Freedom necessarily involves risk. - Alan Watts

  5. #5

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    Hi Rythmic,

    Your answer to my reply sincerely surprised me. First because with my remarks my intention was only to discuss one aspect of the game that I really not agree, but I'm not intend to be sarcastic or rather acid with you. Second, I write slowly, with some difficulty, and make mistakes. I'm learning English. Perhaps I use formal expressions because I always write with assistance of a dictionary.

    Well, I downloaded the Gnome editor and if you give me a step-by-step outline I will be very grateful.

    (PS) I am Brazilian, from Brazil, and our language is also Portuguese.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Senior Member naut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,103

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    Brazil is also beautiful, (especially Brazilian women, )

    1) Open Gnome editor, and press load file. Load the file CRUSADERS_UNIT_PROD11 (in you Medieval folder).

    2) Look for Column 20, notice it says ALL_PERIODS, EARLY, HIGH or LATE. Simply change the ones you want to change to ALL_PERIODS.

    3) Save as CRUSADERS_UNIT_PROD11

    Done.
    Last edited by naut; 01-02-2007 at 04:37.
    #Hillary4prism

    BD:TW

    Some piously affirm: "The truth is such and such. I know! I see!"
    And hold that everything depends upon having the “right” religion.
    But when one really knows, one has no need of religion. - Mahavyuha Sutra

    Freedom necessarily involves risk. - Alan Watts

  7. #7

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    Rythmic,

    Thanks for the help.
    But I am playing mod MTW XL_Early.
    Probably the file to change is MTW_XL_EARLY_UNIT_PROD11 ?!
    Is it correct?

    I want also to modify the characteristics of a particular unit, changing the fields 26 to 28 and 37 to 42. It seems easy.
    Then, I need also change both the cost of production of this unit in the field 3 (it also seems easy) and the anual cost (per men) to sustain this specific unit (I need a feedback to do this last change).

    Thanks.

  8. #8

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    Hi Rythmic,

    I found (in Frogbeastegg guide) that if we multiply the field 4 (support cost integer) by the unit member size and also always for 0,125 results the anual cost for sustain a full unit.

    Examples:

    Rus Spearmen
    unit size = 100
    support cost integer (field 4) = 5
    then,
    100 x 5 x 0,125 = 62,5 = anual cost to sustain the full unit

    Druzhina Cavalry
    unit size = 60
    support cost integer (field 4) = 12
    60 x 12 x 0,125 = 90

    But I wish to ask two questions that probably will be easy for you.

    First: The Englands have a initial discount of 25% to train new archers : 169 florins (the usual is 225). Where this parameter is fixed ?

    Second: I understand that if the arm of a unit requires two hands, it's impossible to the soldiers keep a shield and the field 60 (melee with shield) is fixed "no". But I'm not sure what means the field 60 fixed "yes" with the field 59 (shield type) fixed "none" , like the archers. It means that archers dont' have the shield only when they are shooting bows or that they have no shields at all? The second option seems more reasonable for me, because
    other missile units, like Trebizond archers has a small shield. It's useful in melee. But I think they don't use them when they are shooting bows! Is this wright?

    Thanks,
    Marcos Frederico

  9. #9
    Senior Member Senior Member naut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,103

    Default Re: I need some patch ?!

    Sorry for the slow response, I went on holiday.

    12 Ruler ID troop advantage, set it to the faction label to give a faction a discount.

    The shield acts as a defence against both arrow fire and melee damage, the different sizes give different bonuses. What it means when it says melee with shield is that is it possible for the unit to swing it's weapon with the shield armed.
    #Hillary4prism

    BD:TW

    Some piously affirm: "The truth is such and such. I know! I see!"
    And hold that everything depends upon having the “right” religion.
    But when one really knows, one has no need of religion. - Mahavyuha Sutra

    Freedom necessarily involves risk. - Alan Watts

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO