Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No family tree in mod

  1. #1

    Default No family tree in mod

    I was making a mod using the mesoamerican culture but the family tree only displays my faction leader and no one else (not even the faction heir). In the system log it says that the other family member 'need to be defined as a relative'. Also the Faction Leader's anf Faction Heir's names are not displayed.

    How do I set up the family tree?
    4 Seasons (6 Empires battle for supremecy); 3.0 version
    Total War Eras (start at 970, 1080, 1200, 1300, 1400, or 1500); 2.4 version
    Eras Total Conquest (start at 1230, 1346, 1547); 1.2 version

  2. #2
    blaaaaaaaaaarg! Senior Member Lusted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,773

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    You set it up in descr_strat, look at the other factions and find the relatives section.

  3. #3

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    If you mean the data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_strat.txt I've already edited that and the relatives don't show up (this is how I was able to set the Faction Heir and Faction Leader).

    descr_strat code (I've deleted all but the General's units):
    Code:
    character	Amaron, named character, male, leader, age 40, x 152, y 166
    traits Factionleader 1 , GoodCommander 2 , BattleDread 4 , ReligionStarter 2 
    army
    unit		Battlemage				exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    
    character	Diexony, named character, male, age 32, x 167, y 183
    traits Factionheir 1 , LoyaltyStarter 3 , GoodCommander 2 , Intelligent 1 , Energetic 1 , GoodAmbusher 1 , ReligionStarter 1 
    army
    unit		Battlemage				exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    
    character	Oxynta Erlach, assassin, male, age 20, x 150, y 166
    traits GoodSpy 1 
    
    character	Rhaskos Scherer, priest, male, age 45, x 151, y 178
    traits NaturalPriestSkill 1 , StrongFaith 3 , 
    
    character_record		Cerzula, 	female, age 49, alive, never_a_leader
    character_record		Grim, 	male, age 12, alive, never_a_leader
    
    relative 	Amaron, 	Cerzula,		Diexony, Grim, end
    The error message I get:
    Code:
    20:35:55.484 [script.err] [error] Script Error in myth/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt, at line 378, column 14 couldn't find Amaron's character_record
    20:35:55.484 [script.err] [error] Script Error in myth/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt, at line 380, column 1 The character record  is set as faction heir but is not in the family tree.
    20:35:55.484 [script.err] [error] Script Error in myth/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt, at line 380, column 1 The character record Cerzula is neither married, nor has a father and will be ommited from the game.  She needs to be defined as a relative
    20:35:55.484 [script.err] [error] Script Error in myth/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt, at line 380, column 1 The child character record Grim has no father and will be ommited from the game.  THey need to be defined as a relative
    4 Seasons (6 Empires battle for supremecy); 3.0 version
    Total War Eras (start at 970, 1080, 1200, 1300, 1400, or 1500); 2.4 version
    Eras Total Conquest (start at 1230, 1346, 1547); 1.2 version

  4. #4
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    You have to alter this stuff:
    Code:
    relative 	Amaron, 	Cerzula,		Diexony, Grim, end

  5. #5

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    To what, it already contains the names of everyone in this faction's family. Also I created this line based on an existing faction.
    4 Seasons (6 Empires battle for supremecy); 3.0 version
    Total War Eras (start at 970, 1080, 1200, 1300, 1400, or 1500); 2.4 version
    Eras Total Conquest (start at 1230, 1346, 1547); 1.2 version

  6. #6
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    Oh just noticed something: Are the names legit? You have to add them to descr_names and text/names

  7. #7
    Senior Member Senior Member Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,461

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    Does anyone know what the standard format for this section of text is;

    Code:
    relative 	Amaron, 	Cerzula,		Diexony, Grim, end

    I've managed to add characters to existing family trees already, but it's been very trial and error and i still havn't got a real handle on the layout beyond the parent having to come before the kids.
    Find my ProblemFixer Purehere.

    This ProblemFixer fixes the following: 2-Hander bug, Pike Bug, Shield Bug, Chasing Routers, Cav not Charging, Formation Keeping Improved, Trait Bugs, and Ancillary Bugs.

    BETA Testers needed for the current version of RebuildProblemFixer. Thread here

  8. #8
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    Quote Originally Posted by Carl
    Does anyone know what the standard format for this section of text is;

    Code:
    relative 	Amaron, 	Cerzula,		Diexony, Grim, end

    I've managed to add characters to existing family trees already, but it's been very trial and error and i still havn't got a real handle on the layout beyond the parent having to come before the kids.
    Husband, Wife, childs sorted by age - iirc

  9. #9
    Senior Member Senior Member Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,461

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    Thanks, I did try sorting them by age but it didn't want to have at one point and threw up errors so i figured it was something like by age with extra conditions on top.

    Anyway, thanks for the quick answer.
    Find my ProblemFixer Purehere.

    This ProblemFixer fixes the following: 2-Hander bug, Pike Bug, Shield Bug, Chasing Routers, Cav not Charging, Formation Keeping Improved, Trait Bugs, and Ancillary Bugs.

    BETA Testers needed for the current version of RebuildProblemFixer. Thread here

  10. #10
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: No family tree in mod

    You could also have to sort them by gender, I don't really remember.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO