Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 92

Thread: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

  1. #61
    The Scourge of Rome Member Spartan198's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    THIS... IS... CALIFORNIA!!! *boot*
    Posts
    1,319

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    I wanted to try and port some Alexander units over to vanilla Rome,but all the entries in the EDU and other relevant files are virtually identical to those of vanilla,and I don't know which is which. Any advice?
    My Greek Cavalry submod for RS 1.6a: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=368881

    For Calvin and TosaInu, in a better place together, modding TW without the hassle of hardcoded limits. We miss you.

  2. #62

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Check the DMB for the new skins and models.

  3. #63

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    how high can i turn up the starting_action_points?
    i read somewhere that over 100 in rtw can make the game act "buggy", does that apply for alexander?

  4. #64
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    you might need to experiment if no one else has an answer for you, as far as I remember the 'buggy' description was that map actually CTD'd on load for RTW if you tried silly values like 300, so it should be quite clear if you get that! Think I had 130 running fine in RTW before.

    Best thing is to test the figure you want by letting computer play itself on campaign map by using -ai in same place you put -show_err on shortcut. That should show up if you're getting problems.
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  5. #65

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    ok, thanks. i knew i would have to just try it out and see, i just wanted to check if there was any heads up beforehand, so thanks.

  6. #66

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    ATW sometimes crashes to desktop when there is a succesfully ambush, if you are using the fomations_ai file from other RTW versions.
    To avoid these ctds when you port descr_formations_ai.txt files to ATW, you need to add this alternative ambush formation (included in the vanilla ATW formation file):

    Code:
    ;****************************************************************
    ; Alternate Ambush deployment
    ; Column marching formation for the army being ambushed, allows stretching
    ;****************************************************************
    
    begin_formation alternate_ambush_defender_deployment
    
    	alternate_ambush_defender_deployment
    	ai_priority 0.1
    
    	;;; general at the front
    	begin_block 0
    		min_units				1
    		max_units				1
    		unit_type				general_unit			1.0
    		unit_density			close
    		block_formation			line
    		block_relative_pos		0 0.0 0.0
    		inter_unit_spacing		2.0
    		priority				1.0
    	end_block
    
    	;;; all other units behind
    	begin_block 1
    		unit_type				any					1.0
    		unit_density			close
    		block_formation			column
    		block_relative_pos		0 0.0 -2.0
    		inter_unit_spacing		2.0
    		priority				1.0
    	end_block
    
    
    end_formation
    Note the difference with the default RTW ambush formation is that it has been removed the line:
    max_unit_width 4
    It seems this line causes ctds with ATW engine, at certain map locations (usually forests). And just adding this alternative formation the ctds are fixed.

  7. #67
    Axebitten Modder Senior Member Dol Guldur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,550

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Good info Bardo - can you state the exact point at which the CTD occurs with this? Thx.
    "One of the most sophisticated Total War mods ever developed..."

  8. #68

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Yes, the ctds occur in the loading screen just before the ambush battle is loaded. At the same point that other ctds caused by formations that I have seen.

  9. #69

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    I think nobody has commented the possibility to make series of historical battles where you need to play one battle to unlock the next battle. You just need:
    -to copy inside the folder of the custom battle the void file named "locked", if you want this battle locked by default
    -file unlock.txt with the name of the previous battle needed to unlock this battle
    -file order.txt with the order of this battle in the series

  10. #70
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    This is probably a silly question....

    but with the above do you have to achieve a victory in the first game to unlock the second? That would be rather neat if it did work that way!
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  11. #71

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Yes, it works that way.
    Not a silly question, in fact I said "you have to PLAY the previous battle", when I should have said "you have to WIN the previous battle to unlock the next". ;)

  12. #72
    Member Member Smeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Warcry from Bi works in Alexander. Strange, huh? Woulda been awesome if the other attributes and formations would work too

  13. #73
    Combustion Member beatoangelico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    warcry was already in RTW 1.0

  14. #74
    ERROR READING USER PROFILE Member AqD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Anyone tried to get it to work with -mod:BI? I can enter campaign but not the custom battle (kicked back to faction selection menu)

  15. #75

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    I don't own BI so I can't test it, but you could test:

    1- coping the file chat_filter.san from your Alexander/data folder into your the BI\data folder

    2- adding "-mod:bi -noalexander" to your shortcut

    3- Editing the file descr_strat.txt of BI campaign by adding the line "options bi" at the start of Campaign section (at the top of the file.). It should look like this:
    Code:
    campaign ...
    options bi
    playable ...
    4- Go - ''Rome - Total War folder/bi/data/export_descr_character_traits.txt''
    Open the file and add the Immortal description at the end of trait section:
    ;------------------------------------------
    Trait Immortal
    Characters family
    Hidden

    Level Immortal
    Description Immortal_desc
    EffectsDescription Immortal_effects_desc
    Threshold 1
    Go - ''Rome - Total War folder/eb/data/export_descr_VnVs_enums.txt''
    Open the file and add the specified enums at the far end of the txt file! That should look like this:
    Code:
    Immortal
    Immortal_desc
    Immortal_effects_desc
    I'm not sure, but I guess this could be enough.


    EDIT: It seems ATW.exe does not support several features of BI like hordes, swiming, schiltrom/shield_wall, so the above will probably not work...
    Last edited by Bardo; 06-09-2008 at 04:00.

  16. #76

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Barbarossa, did you ever get your provincial campaign map to load? I'm have a rough time getting a map from RTW loading into Alex.

  17. #77
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Has anyone checked yet if the revolt CTD still occurs under Alex.exe and if the solutions found in
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=71772
    work?

    I can go test but thought I'd see if anyone else had tried first
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  18. #78
    Axebitten Modder Senior Member Dol Guldur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,550

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    I assumed Alex would be the same as RTW and BI. I've thus not tested anything. Never had any problems with revolt CTDs for a long time now, in fatw or any other mod I've done since (including GaFm for Alex.).
    "One of the most sophisticated Total War mods ever developed..."

  19. #79
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    For info:
    The revolt CTD still works the same way, but in Alex, if you have faction restricted mercenaries
    you seem to only get the CTD if the faction the city is about to revolt back to has an available mercenary in the area (and can't build it's own troops)

    having mercs available to the faction that's about to lose the city doesn't cause the problem
    Last edited by Makanyane; 01-31-2009 at 17:03.
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  20. #80
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    having got BI based campaign (and campaign battles) loading under Alex.exe.... any idea what stops custom battles based on same map loading under Alex? have tried most permutations I can think of for either copying BI mod campaign map files and naming Alexander / imperial_campaign which didn't work, and also tried importing original Alexander base map / campaign files... anything I try is giving KTM without error message
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  21. #81

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Have you tried with adding a "Battlefields" folder in 'campaign' with a copy of DS in it?
    Last edited by Aradan; 02-02-2009 at 12:01.

    Norman Invasion - The fate of England lies in your hands...

    Viking Invasion II - Unite Britain in the best TW campaign ever!

    Gods and Fighting Men: Total War - Enter the Mists of Myth in Ancient Ireland

  22. #82
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Just tried that - nope it didn't help
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  23. #83
    Axebitten Modder Senior Member Dol Guldur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,550

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    I had these problems getting everything to work in GaFm. Of course, I have forgotten it all now BUT if you carefully look at how GafM is set out in terms of folders, files, locations and vanilla remnants then this should be a pattern as to how to get it to work.

    Took me days to sort it out and I almost gave up at one point! Not intuitive at all.
    Last edited by Dol Guldur; 02-03-2009 at 11:00.
    "One of the most sophisticated Total War mods ever developed..."

  24. #84

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Is it possible to enable stone walled cities for barbarians with alexander.exe as it is with bi?
    Respectfully,

    Hoginator01

  25. #85
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    it should be - look for tutorial for doing it in RTW - method should be the same
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  26. #86

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Quote Originally Posted by Bardo View Post
    2- adding "-mod:bi -noalexander" to your shortcut
    Why do you put -noalexander in your path to your mod folder? Does this stop the Alex.exe from loading the Alexander campaign files or is this part of your mod folder name?
    Respectfully,

    Hoginator01

  27. #87

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Quote Originally Posted by Aradan View Post
    For example:
    Code:
    faction	egypt, trader mao
    ai_do_not_attack_faction gauls, scythia, pontus
    denari	20000
    The command is supposed to halt a faction from attacking other(s) until attacked, but afaik an attack can still happen, due to the hardcoded mechanism the AI uses to choose enemies...
    It still happens and it happens a lot. This code is useless.
    Respectfully,

    Hoginator01

  28. #88

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Quote Originally Posted by Makanyane View Post
    having got BI based campaign (and campaign battles) loading under Alex.exe.... any idea what stops custom battles based on same map loading under Alex? have tried most permutations I can think of for either copying BI mod campaign map files and naming Alexander / imperial_campaign which didn't work, and also tried importing original Alexander base map / campaign files... anything I try is giving KTM without error message
    Makanyane,

    Have you figured out how to make the custom battles work yet? I am having the same issues you had in the quoted post above.
    Respectfully,

    Hoginator01

  29. #89
    Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,220

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    Sorry, no, I haven't had time to go back to it... Florin started another tutorial thread about Alex here
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=263469

    see if anything in that helps
    Not used mods before? Looking for something small and fun?!
    Download the:

  30. #90

    Default Re: GUIDE: Specifics of Modding Alexander - TW

    EDITED with new information and tests
    Quote Originally Posted by Makanyane View Post
    having got BI based campaign (and campaign battles) loading under Alex.exe.... any idea what stops custom battles based on same map loading under Alex? have tried most permutations I can think of for either copying BI mod campaign map files and naming Alexander / imperial_campaign which didn't work, and also tried importing original Alexander base map / campaign files... anything I try is giving KTM without error message
    I have been making some tests to try to understand the correct folder structure so Custom and Historical Battles can work under Alexander TW:

    The related files are placed at these folders:
    Code:
    1) \data\world\maps\campaign\Battlefields\
    2) \data\world\maps\base\
    3) and the file: \data\text\Battlefields_regions_and_settlement_names.txt
    1) \data\world\maps\campaign\Battlefields\
    You need to copy a descr_strat.txt (DS) file into this folder for the Custom Battles (CB) to work. It seems you can copy any DS from any campaign. I have tested with the DS from our mod, the DS of vanilla Alex and also from vanilla RTW. It seems they all work.
    You do not need any other file into this folder.

    2) \data\world\maps\base\
    You need to copy some files into this folder.The list used by the vanilla Alex and also our lotr-tw mod is:
    Code:
    descr_disasters.txt
    descr_regions.txt
    descr_terrain.txt
    map_climates.tga
    map_FE.tga
    map_features.tga
    map_ground_types.tga
    map_heights.tga
    map_regions.tga
    map_roughness.tga
    map_trade_routes.tga
    water_surface.tga
    You do not need the .tgas once the map.rwm has been generated. But I suggest to keep them all.

    3) \data\text\Battlefields_regions_and_settlement_names.txt
    Finally, the most recent discovery is that you need this file to fit with the region names of \data\world\maps\base\descr_regions.txt

    My problem was that I though Battlefields_regions_and_settlement_names.txt should fit with
    \data\world\maps\campaign\Battlefields\descr_strat.txt (something more logic, but incorrect)


    I have verified that:
    1) Juts changing the file Battlefields_regions_and_settlement_names.txt, you can make the Historical and Custom Battles to ctd while loading.
    2) Juts removing the file descr_regions.txt from \data\world\maps\base\, the Historical battles stop working too, while Custom battles run normally.
    (our case in lotr-tw all these years)
    3) Just removing the file \data\world\maps\campaign\Battlefields\descr_strat.txt, the Custom battles stop working, while Historical battles run normally.
    (opposite than previous test)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoginator01 View Post
    Why do you put -noalexander in your path to your mod folder? Does this stop the Alex.exe from loading the Alexander campaign files or is this part of your mod folder name?
    It is not part of the mod name, it is a line command to force Alx.exe to search the standard campaign names ("imperial_campaign_") in stead of the alexander ones ("alexander_"), so you do not need to change any folder or file name when you port your mod from BI or RTW.

    You can find more here: https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showp...&postcount=105
    Last edited by Bardo; 09-13-2009 at 16:13.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO