Thread: I've no idea who to play as, may I request some advice!

Default I've no idea who to play as, may I request some advice!

Hi guys,
    The situation is that I'm a little stuck, my Aragon campaign in XL Medium difficulty, concluded in defeat in the year 1453 to my disappointment, my faction was not superior enough to beat the almighty English empire in size/wealth or technology. I really wish I'd teched up those citied more rather than bribing Cuman armies for 45,000 florins at a time - a price which I really could not afford, my treasury was only 167,000 at it's hight.

Anyhow, may I ask you fellows to recommend me a faction and a difficulty level in XL. I'm still a little bit of newbie to classical Total Warfare, yet I would like to try and overcome a really strategically weak faction to build up another glorious empire, something which I have only ever managed to do once as the Aragonese in my previous campaign, my first successful campaign yet - I am hopeless at this game!

Thankyou very much guys, cheers!
    Dawn is nature's way of telling you to go back to bed

The Ultimate Grand Inquisitor! Member UltraWar's Avatar

Default Re: I've no idea who to play as, may I request some advice!

Early Poland in Medium (XL)

Hmmm, try Early Sweden, Norway or Lithuania at Normal or Denmark or Novgorods on Hard. Those should give you a similar game with a different perspective maybe.

Enlightened Despot Member Vladimir's Avatar

Spain, always Spain.

Reinvent the British and you get a global finance center, edible food and better service. Reinvent the French and you may just get more Germans.
    Quote Originally Posted by Evil_Maniac From Mars
    How do you motivate your employees? Waterboarding, of course.
    Ik hou van ferme grieten en dikke pinten
    Down with dried flowers!
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

Sir Loin of Lamb Member General Dazza's Avatar