Thread: Brand new canpaign map doubts

Default Brand new canpaign map doubts

Hi guys, I am an absolutely newbie in modding, I have been playing RTW for a long while, and I just get interested in that modding thing, understanding the amount of possibilities (and work) that it brings.

I have been playing around with the guide of Myddraal (superb) about redesigning the campaign map, that with mistakes and patience I made it work more o less.

I know too that there is a lot of posting and probably some of my questions are answered somehow, but I read a lot of them and there is some things I do not catch.

I plan (and dream) to make a brand new campaigns map (I will add more modd at the projects grows), for a fantasy word.

One thing I do not understand is how you guys do quite accurate the shape of the land maps that fits exactly in all the others .tga (regions, roughness, trade, ground types…).do you use a kind of grid, or there is a technique which I ignore??.
    This is looks quite important when you do rivers or land-passes, tows..etc.
    Another thing I would like to be thought is when I load the modified map, I want to see the effects of “walking” there, so I use to send and spy, but sometimes takes quite a while to reach.
    Is there any way to “pop” my, lets say spy, in the new terrain I just added and see how its works?

Finally something I do not know, I got the RTW Gold edition-BI, and I read a lot of for RTW 1.2..or 1.5. How I can know what’s mine?

I think I have a very good idea about what I want to do, and I think that if I get the results is gonna be a very interesting modd to play, but I gonna need a lot of asking (and without doubt a lot of work, but I take the challenge), hope guys you will not get just tired about me.

Nice web site.

Ave Caesar! Morituri te salutant.

Finder of Little Oddities Senior Member Makanyane's Avatar

Default Re: Brand new canpaign map doubts