Thread: Campaign Question

Default Campaign Question

Hi, I am new to Total War and have a question about the unit size setting and what effect it has in the campaign map. I was wondering what effect setting the unit size to large or huge rather than normal will have in the campaign ? Has the campaign been designed to be played on normal unit size ? And will changing the unit size to large or huge affect the campaign AI balance ?

Any help on this topic would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Village special needs person Member Kobal2fr's Avatar

Default Re: Campaign Question

Mostly it has little effect, except make battles last longer at the price of being a lot less manageable.

The side effects are :
    - each individual unit kills more, and has higher chance of survival, hence faster XP gain, esp. for cavalry chasing down routers

- siege engines are still 2 to a unit, decreasing their impact and mostly relegating them to their original role : blasting walls and towers.

- huge units fighting to the death in city squares reduce the impact of heavy cav somewhat, as does the increased "blobbing" of troops/stragglers in all battles, which messes up their charges more often than not.

- more archers per unit means more archers shooting at the same amount of siege equipment (but that may well be taken into account by the engine already)
    Anything wrong ? Blame it on me. I'm the French.

Typing from the Saddle Senior Member Doug-Thompson's Avatar

What Kobal2fr said.

Also, units take twice as long to recruit on huge. A unit that normally takes one turn to recruit takes two, and a unit that took two takes four.

Also, I have a question. Some of us have been on the forum a long time. I think there's an assumption that everybody's played this game a long time. Is this forum helpful to a new player? What kind of post would a new player like to see?
    Last edited by Doug-Thompson; 05-31-2007 at 15:52.