Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Vista and MTW/VI

  1. #1
    Senior Member Senior Member Tomisama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,835

    Default Vista and MTW/VI

    Is anyone playing VI on a Vista operating system?

    If so, what graphics card(s) are you using.

    Driver version?

    Thanks!
    HONOUR IS VICTORY - GO WITH HONOUR - KEEP THE CODE

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198003816474

  2. #2

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    Vista is so ****ed that it will easily take 1 yr to get the damn bugs out..

    Driver issues are a real pain for folks... and Lord help you if you did an upgrade instead of getting a fresh install...

    summary:

    Vista sucks....stick with XP

  3. #3

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    On the contrary, I run Vista and VI works just fine. I remember all the horror stories when XP arrived, now it's being called a great OS. Get over it, sooner or later you won't have the choice.

    Tomi,
    I may be wrong but I think the issues with VI are related more to the 8 series Nvidia card. I have a 7600GT, latest drivers

    .....Orda

  4. #4
    Senior Member Senior Member Tomisama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,835

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    I have run the Vista Upgrade Advisor, and the report on my current configuration's compatibility was not all that good at this particular date (thanks Doc).

    I was thinking that maybe if I went to Vista, and DX10, that my 8 series might be able to work with VI. That was one path.

    The other which is looking better right now, would be to add another card like the 6700 (thanks Orda), which I now understand you can easily do with XP (thanks to Tosa’s PM).

    The term "heterogeneous multi-adapter" is used to refer to multiple graphics adapters using multiple graphics drivers in a single PC.
    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device...imonVista.mspx
    HONOUR IS VICTORY - GO WITH HONOUR - KEEP THE CODE

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198003816474

  5. #5

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    Orda...you still playin VI?

    If not, you should join us on Fridays for some revival games...

    Hope you get your VI going Tomi.
    Hunter King George Visit the Realm of the Hunters:
    Proud participant of the Code of Honor. Have you signed the code?

  6. #6
    MISSIONARY for VI - High Era Member |Heerbann|_Luculus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hamburg, GERMANY
    Posts
    55

    Default AW: Vista and MTW/VI

    A clannie Bozkurt has got a new pc and got Vista installed. MTW/VI is running but in the battels he cannot click his units.

    His english is not good enough to get help from websides, so I wanna help him to solve his problem.

    Did anyone heard of similar problems and/or has an idea what to do ?

  7. #7
    ..fears no adversary Senior Member Jochi Khan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    South Wales UK
    Posts
    1,213

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomisama
    The other which is looking better right now, would be to add another card like the 6700 (thanks Orda), which I now understand you can easily do with XP (thanks to Tosa’s PM).
    Tomisama.. 7600GT.

    OK I use XP but that card is a good one. Runs all my games with no problems.
    R.I.P Great Warrior Ja mata TosaInu


    sat at the..Nomad Alliance..campfire



    Do your best and do it according to your own inner standard
    --call it conscience--
    not just according to society's knowledge and judgement of your deeds.

  8. #8
    Clan Takiyama Senior Member CBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    4,407

    Default Re: AW: Vista and MTW/VI

    Quote Originally Posted by |Heerbann|_Luculus
    A clannie Bozkurt has got a new pc and got Vista installed. MTW/VI is running but in the battels he cannot click his units.

    His english is not good enough to get help from websides, so I wanna help him to solve his problem.

    Did anyone heard of similar problems and/or has an idea what to do ?
    What videocard does Bozkurt have in his new PC? The Nvidia 8xxx series might cause problems like that IIRC.


    CBR

  9. #9
    Senior Member Senior Member Tomisama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,835

    Default Re: AW: Vista and MTW/VI

    Quote Originally Posted by |Heerbann|_Luculus
    A clannie Bozkurt has got a new pc and got Vista installed. MTW/VI is running but in the battels he cannot click his units.

    His english is not good enough to get help from websides, so I wanna help him to solve his problem.

    Did anyone heard of similar problems and/or has an idea what to do ?
    Luc, what video card(s) is Boz running?

    The 8800 for sure, and maybe the whole 8 series, will not work with MTW/VI. And from my recent tests, it is the card and not the driver or the operating system, that is responsible for the problem.

    My answer was to grab an off-the-shelf 7300. It is not perfect (would have preferred a 7600 or 7900), but I can play now, and will look at upgrading in the future.
    Last edited by Tomisama; 09-06-2007 at 02:02.
    HONOUR IS VICTORY - GO WITH HONOUR - KEEP THE CODE

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198003816474

  10. #10
    Senior Member Senior Member Tomisama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,835

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    Well I did it!

    Was in Bloomington Illinois today (the big city…lol), and found an off the shelf e-GeForce 7600 GT OK.

    What a beautiful card! Has the resolution of 8800, and none of the missing map triangles of the 7300. I am in heaven

    Thank you Orda and Jochi
    HONOUR IS VICTORY - GO WITH HONOUR - KEEP THE CODE

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198003816474

  11. #11
    ..fears no adversary Senior Member Jochi Khan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    South Wales UK
    Posts
    1,213

    Default Re: Vista and MTW/VI

    Nice to see a happy player. You're welcome Tomisama.
    R.I.P Great Warrior Ja mata TosaInu


    sat at the..Nomad Alliance..campfire



    Do your best and do it according to your own inner standard
    --call it conscience--
    not just according to society's knowledge and judgement of your deeds.

  12. #12
    MISSIONARY for VI - High Era Member |Heerbann|_Luculus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hamburg, GERMANY
    Posts
    55

    Default AW: Vista and MTW/VI

    We'll try NV 7600+ card.

    Thanks for Your answers

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO