Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Sahara

  1. #1

    Default Sahara

    Does anyone know how to reach the settlement in the Sahara Desert?

    I've had one of my armies wandering aimlessly in the desert for nearly 15 years trying to find the correct path to the settlement. I know it can be done, because I have seen screenshots where the player managed to incorporate the Sahara into their empire. It seems impossible to achieve, but I know that there has to be one correct path.

    Help will be gladly appreciated.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Sahara

    move_character, it has been asked already before

  3. #3
    Just your average Senior Member Warmaster Horus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Besancon, France: a stepping stone to greatness. I hope.
    Posts
    2,940

    Default Re: Sahara

    I believe someone once used a diplomat to highlight the path, and had the screens to back it.

    Anyway, the real question here would be "Why go there?"
    Seriously, it's a desert.
    The Throne Room: "Less a forum, more a way of life." Econ21
    Don't hesitate to visit the Mead Hall! A little more reading, a little less shouting, please.
    Join the latest greatest installement of mafia games: Capo di Tutti Capi!
    Check out the Gahzette!
    By the by, are you interested in helping out the Gahzette? Think you could be a writer, reporting on the TW or Org community? Then check the Gahzette Thread or drop me a PM!


    Back.

  4. #4
    Prodder of Stuff Member Musopticon?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Finland, Kouvola
    Posts
    201

    Default Re: Sahara

    The answer is easy:

    For completeness.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Sahara

    Exactly, I'm trying my hardest to conquer the entire map.

    And because the desert being controlled by barbarians happens to taunt me.

  6. #6
    Arrogant Ashigaru Moderator Ludens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    9,003
    Blog Entries
    1

    Lightbulb Re: Sahara

    Terhazza cannot be reached without cheating. This was done on purpose to prevent the Ptolemic/Carthaginian sand wars. IIRC the script also requires one town that stays in the hands of the eleutheroi.
    Looking for a good read? Visit the Library!

  7. #7

    Default Re: Sahara

    Is that something hard-coded into the game? Or did you guys add that for some reason?

  8. #8
    EBII Mod Leader Member Foot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Brighton, East Sussex, England (GMT)
    Posts
    10,736

    Default Re: Sahara

    Quote Originally Posted by gran_guitarra
    Is that something hard-coded into the game? Or did you guys add that for some reason?
    Lots of buildings that we use for scripting purposes are placed there. Going there is highly unadvised.

    Foot
    EBII Mod Leader
    Hayasdan Faction Co-ordinator


  9. #9
    EB TRIBVNVS PLEBIS Member MarcusAureliusAntoninus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The State of Jefferson, USA
    Posts
    5,722

    Default Re: Sahara

    You cannot reach that settlement.
    This is in the FAQ!


  10. #10

    Default Re: Sahara

    Perhaps you should paint "hic sunt dracones" in the sand of the campaign map or something like that to discourage its conquest.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Sahara

    Thanks for the info, everyone, though I do have one more question. Will conquering the Sahara screw up the script, or is it possible to own the sahara without the game going off of the deep end?

  12. #12
    EB TRIBVNVS PLEBIS Member MarcusAureliusAntoninus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The State of Jefferson, USA
    Posts
    5,722

    Default Re: Sahara

    You can cheat, own it, and nothing will happen (probably). The town will be filled with a bunch of buildings that don't make since. And if you destroy those, then there will be problems.


  13. #13
    EB annoying hornet Member bovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11,412

    Default Re: Sahara

    I don't think you'll necessarily screw up the game, but don't come running saying there's a bunch of buildings lacking descriptions... Perhaps saving the game before taking it would be a good idea too, just in case. Anyway, it will only give you grief, it is a highly unruly province as it's way long from your capital. Wherever that might be.

    Having problems getting EB2 to run? Try these solutions.
    ================
    I do NOT answer PM requests for help with EB. Ask in a new help thread in the tech help forum.
    ================
    I think computer viruses should count as life. I think it says something about human nature that the only form of life we have created so far is purely destructive. We've created life in our own image. - Stephen Hawking

  14. #14

    Default Re: Sahara

    Supposedly thats where you guys got some of those dissappearing skinners and anyone involved with unit making imprisoned . And the stoner cataphracts .


    I still need to work on that AAR based around some stoner cataphracts looking for there lost stash .


    Join the Army: A Pontic AAR
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=96984
    ...uh coptic mother****er:A Makuria Comedy AAR
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showt...93#post1814493

  15. #15

    Default Re: Sahara

    Oops, I just booted up EB for the first time in a few days, and both of my saved games crashed after the end of turn button was pressed. Apparently, just being next to Terhazza causes the script to crash, let alone owning it. Now I have to restart the same game that I have been playing for the past three months.




    Well, I certainly learned my lesson. Thanks again for the input, everyone.

  16. #16
    Member Member hoom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The country that replaced Zelix
    Posts
    1,921

    Default Re: Sahara

    I believe someone once used a diplomat to highlight the path, and had the screens to back it.
    I posted a pic of the approximate path taken by a diplomat named Odysseus who via a grand tour of the East tried in vain to get there.
    He never got there though & died somewhere up the Nile.
    maybe those guys should be doing something more useful...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO