Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

  1. #1
    Makedonios Ksanthopoulos Member Privateerkev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    In the middle of a vast sea of corn...
    Posts
    5,112

    Default How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    Tosa patiently taught me how to set up a Kingdom's Hotseat game that allows the GM to open up the console. I believe in "sharing the wealth" and I would love to see a large and vibrant Kingdom's Hotseat community in here so I will share his instructions with all of you.

    The following guide is from Tosa with my additions in italics

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    1 Go to the M2TW main folder.
    2 Find medieval2.preference.cfg
    3 Right click on it and select properties.
    4 The properties window for the file opens.
    5 At the bottom is the Attributes field.
    Deselect Read-Only.
    6 Hit the Apply button. Close the Window.
    7 Open the file with wordpad/notepad.
    8 Find [hotseat]
    9 Add below that admin_password = yourpassword
    "yourpassword" means what ever password you want
    10 Save the file.
    11 Right click it again, select properties and enable the Read-Only attribute.
    12 Create the hotseat save like normal. Disable the console if you don't want others getting into it.
    Go into the first player's login screen.
    13 Check whether you can open the console with ~
    14 Type in the console "logon yourpassword" which is what ever password you entered in the config file and hit enter.
    15 Do you get an error message? make sure the ` is not in the field like it is when I first open the console
    16 If not type "logoff" and hit enter
    save the game
    17 Quit the game, start the game again, load the save and repeat step 13-16 to check.

    18 It should all work now, start playing and have fun.
    --------------------------------------------------------

    You will then have admin access to your hotseat game. Just enter in your admin password at any player login screen. Even with console disabled, you can still access the console in there.

    Here are some basic commands from Tosa (his words are in quotes).

    To reset someone's password:

    When that is set, you open the console, login with the password and then type: clear_password <faction_label>

    Replace <factionlablel> by say byzantium
    The password will then be removed, the first player who enters can set a new one.
    If a player drops, and you can't find a replacement, you can set their faction as AI controlled:

    It also allows to change control to the AI (so 1 inactive player? => set faction to AI control and move on). Type control <factionlabel>
    To set someone elses password:

    There are also functions to set the password (type set_password <faction_label> <password> <password> ).
    Other cheats should work but it is advised that you inform your players so everyone knows.

    Afaik, the console also allows cheats such as money injections (I'ld suggest to update the players in advance about that so they can make a judged decision).

    I have been able to successfully start and test an admin accessible Kingdom's Hotseat game. So, let me know if you have any questions.

    Happy gaming!
    Last edited by Privateerkev; 11-20-2007 at 21:42.


    Knight of the Order of St. John
    Duke of Nicosia

  2. #2
    Makedonios Ksanthopoulos Member Privateerkev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    In the middle of a vast sea of corn...
    Posts
    5,112

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat PBM

    FactionHeir very kindly made a guide to help people set up a M2TW hotseat. And he patiently wrote it so even I can understand it.

    Also one note about the auto_resolve section of the code, if you want to enable battles to be player controlled, then pick 0 instead of 1

    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    To set up M2TW for hotseat in the first place.
    Open medieval2.preference.cfg

    Find [multiplayer] or [hotseat]
    If they do not exist, create them before the [ui] section. Even if they do exist, overwrite with the following:

    [multiplayer]
    playable = true
    hotseat_turns = true
    hotseat_scroll = false
    hotseat_autoresolve_battles = 1
    hotseat_disable_console = 1
    hotseat_disable_papal_elections = 0
    hotseat_save_prefs = 0
    hotseat_update_ai_camera = 0
    hotseat_validate_diplomacy = 1

    [hotseat]
    admin_password = abc

    Where abc is the password you want as admin password.

    Save the file, close it and mark read-only.

    Start up the game, pick grand campaign and select your factions for the game. Clicking on a faction icon will highlight it, clicking again deselects it. Choose as many factions as you like.

    Then choose the other available settings and start the game.

    On the game turn screen, Admin access you be set to "yes". If it is not, exist M2TW and start it up again (first verifying whether you did the first steps correctly).

    Then open up the console using the appropriate key for your particular localized keyboard. There, type:
    Code:
    logon abc
    And you should get a feedback message telling you it was successful.

    Rest as per PK's guide.
    Last edited by Privateerkev; 12-21-2007 at 22:21.


    Knight of the Order of St. John
    Duke of Nicosia

  3. #3
    Makedonios Ksanthopoulos Member Privateerkev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    In the middle of a vast sea of corn...
    Posts
    5,112

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat PBM

    Tosa made a Wiki entry on the subject of Hotseats. You can find it here:https://forums.totalwar.org/wiki/index.php/Hotseat


    Knight of the Order of St. John
    Duke of Nicosia

  4. #4

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    what am i doing wrong?

    I am trying to play a Broken Crescent hotseat ith my brothers and i followed all the info.

    here are the lines in my preferances:



    [multiplayer]
    playable = true
    hotseat_turns = true
    hotseat_scroll = false
    hotseat_autoresolve_battles = 0
    hotseat_disable_console = 1
    hotseat_disable_papal_elections = 0
    hotseat_save_prefs = 0
    hotseat_update_ai_camera = 0
    hotseat_validate_diplomacy = 1

    [hotseat]
    admin_password = abc
    autoresolve_battles = 0
    disable_console = 1
    disable_papal_elections = 1
    save_prefs = 1
    update_ai_camera = 0
    validate_diplomacy = 1

    help please!

  5. #5

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    p.s. I have kingdoms if that matters.

  6. #6
    Bureaucratically Efficient Senior Member TinCow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    13,729

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    Can you give us more details on the problem? Where is it going wrong? Does the game not start at all? Ddoes it start single player properly but doesn't allow for multiple faction selections for hotseat?


  7. #7

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    sorry

    the game does start but it won't allow me to have multiple factions

  8. #8
    Know the dark side Member Askthepizzaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    25,552

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    Have you ever successfully done multiple factions before?
    #Winstontoostrong
    #Montytoostronger

  9. #9
    Bureaucratically Efficient Senior Member TinCow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    13,729

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    Quote Originally Posted by impspy View Post
    sorry

    the game does start but it won't allow me to have multiple factions
    While hotseat games get played here, I'm not sure how many experts we have on the technical side of it. Try posting in the Apothecary as well. That's our tech support forum and you may be able to get some help there that we would be unable to provide here.


  10. #10

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    Hi, how can I reset and change the admin password? Admin have to play with a country now, and admin guy must be changed. How can we reset the admin password?

    Thanks in advance.

  11. #11
    Illuminated Moderator Pogo Panic Champion, Graveyard Champion, Rally 2100 Champion, Missle Attack Champion, Ninja Kid Champion, Ninja Turtles 1 Champion, Pop-Up Killer Champion, Ratman Ralph Champion GeneralHankerchief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On a pirate ship
    Posts
    12,180
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How to set up an admin accessible M2TW or Kingdoms Hotseat Game

    Hi @tberkaya

    I do not believe it's possible to change the admin password once the campaign has started, unfortunately. Your best options are probably either starting a new game (hopefully you weren't too far in!) or not having a non-player admin and just trusting all of the players to be honorable.
    "I'm going to die anyway, and therefore have nothing more to do except deliberately annoy Lemur." -Orb, in the chat
    "Lemur. Even if he's innocent, he's a pain; so kill him." -Ignoramus
    "I'm going to need to collect all of the rants about the guilty lemur, and put them in a pretty box with ponies and pink bows. Then I'm going to sprinkle sparkly magic dust on the box, and kiss it." -Lemur
    Mafia: Promoting peace and love since June 2006

    Quote Originally Posted by TosaInu
    At times I read back my own posts [...]. It's not always clear at first glance.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO