Thread: Still fairly new - weird crusade event for me?

Default Still fairly new - weird crusade event for me?

i'm still fairly new to MTW 2...

I finally “won” in my third campaign, playing as Sicily that time. Technically, the clock ran out in 1530 when I had held Jerusalem and about 42 other regions. So, I kept playing until I got up to 45.

I am now playing as the Spanish and have done pretty well so far. I am about halfway through and have 22 or 23 regions, having gained most of them in France, but having recently gotten London and Antwerp from England & Denmark and then crusaded into Palermo and snagged Naples, too. I also have Marrakech, Timbuktu and that little town west of Timbuktu and crusaded into Acre (I was going to Jerusalem, but Poland beat me there by a turn)

However, I had a problem early in the game with a crusade. I had requested an early crusade into Marrakech and the Pope granted the request. It said the Crusade was a declaration of war since the Moors were neutral at the time, and I said yes. Since I had a general-led stack all prepared for this, I immediately marched him across from south of Cordoba/Granada towards Marrakech. I also sank a few Moorish ships, so we were definitely at war.

The very next turn, I got a warning that the crusade was not making progress towards its goal and was in danger of desertion – despite that I moved my max towards Marrakech my last turn?

Then, I right-clicked on the city of Marrakech to put it under siege and I got the message that if I did that it was an act of war against a neutral faction? Yet, I was already at war and crusading towards their city?

So, I put the city under siege to build my siege tower, ladder & battering ram in one turn.

Next turn, I get the message that my entire crusade had deserted – it was gone. Nobody left – not even the pilgrims and religious fanatics.

And, I was still at war with the Moors.

WTF?

Bureaucratically Efficient Senior Member TinCow's Avatar