Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Battle formation question...

  1. #1

    Default Battle formation question...

    OK Let s see if I can make this clear:

    I want a unit, eg archers, to retreat, take position on a hillside in a two man line.

    If I click the destination twice , they run. Is a further command to line up :


    a a a a a a a a
    a a a a a a a a

    separate and does it have to be done after they arrive?

    What I want is for them to Run and line up, however they don t seem able to do both ie when I drag out the ghost unit before they arrive they go back to walking (which means they get pounced on)

    Hope that s clear.

    (By the way, in Shogun it works a treat-they run and line up)
    A single leaf falls,
    then suddenly another,
    stolen by the breeze


    RANSETSU (1654-1707)

  2. #2
    Senior Member Senior Member Jxrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony Furze
    What I want is for them to Run and line up, however they don t seem able to do both ie when I drag out the ghost unit before they arrive they go back to walking (which means they get pounced on)
    Same happens to me all the time. Only solution I know of is just do things in reverse order.

    Step 1: drag out the ghost unit
    Step 2: tell them to run

    A bit tedious but with the pause button ....

  3. #3
    Second-hand chariot salesman Senior Member macsen rufus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ratae Corieltauvorum
    Posts
    2,475

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    Just to expand, the "run" command is 'Ctrl-R', which doesn't interfere with the previous command, so they'll do what they were doing before, but faster

    Edit: another way round - you can double-click to get them running to near where you want them, then press SHIFT and drag out the formation, which effectively means "run here, THEN deploy here"

    You shouldn't need to pause for either of these methods if you don't want to.
    Last edited by macsen rufus; 02-06-2008 at 13:30.
    ANCIENT: TW

    A mod for Medieval:TW (with VI)

    Discussion forum thread

    Ancient TW2: Eastern Empires is under development again

    Featuring: Rise of Persia, Alexander's Conquests, Wars of the Diadochi

  4. #4
    Beauty hunter Senior Member Raz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    1,089

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    Heh, I don't know why they didn't put in a "ok, now go back to walking" command.
    Quote Originally Posted by drone
    I imagine an open-source project to recreate [Medieval: Total War] would be faced with an army of high-valour lawyers.

    Live your life out on Earth; I'm going to join the Sun.

  5. #5
    Second-hand chariot salesman Senior Member macsen rufus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ratae Corieltauvorum
    Posts
    2,475

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    It would make sense, I wonder if ctrl-R might work as a toggle? Don't recall ever trying that....
    ANCIENT: TW

    A mod for Medieval:TW (with VI)

    Discussion forum thread

    Ancient TW2: Eastern Empires is under development again

    Featuring: Rise of Persia, Alexander's Conquests, Wars of the Diadochi

  6. #6
    Professional Cynic Member Innocentius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    878

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    You see, this is the reason I made this thread.
    It's not easy being a man, you know. I had to get dressed today... And there are other pressures.

    - Dylan Moran

    The Play

  7. #7

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    Thanks Raz, Jxrc, Innocentius and macsen.

    macsen:
    The Ctrl + R did indeed work-I ve just tried it out on my retreating Nubians in an Egyptian campaign...pulled out the ghost unit, then hit Ctrl + R and they ran dutifully to their positions.
    A single leaf falls,
    then suddenly another,
    stolen by the breeze


    RANSETSU (1654-1707)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Battle formation question...

    Quote Originally Posted by macsen rufus
    It would make sense, I wonder if ctrl-R might work as a toggle? Don't recall ever trying that....
    It should. The hard way (right click on unit card, pick 'Run' from menu) certainly works that way.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO