Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fix My Boat

  1. #1

    Default Fix My Boat

    How do you retrain boats?

  2. #2
    Enforcer of Exonyms Member Barbarossa82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Englaland (and don't let the Normans tell you any different!)
    Posts
    575

    Default Re: Fix My Boat

    Stick them in a harbour and then you can retrain them from the recruitment scroll of that province's town. As with troops, you can only retrain the same level of units you can build from scratch.

    There is a weird bug that means the retraining won't work if your fleet is a full stack, if I remember correctly. So take one ship out temporarily.
    Self-proclaimed winner of the "Member who Looks Most Like their Avatar" contest 2007

    My Armenian AAR

  3. #3
    Best Laugh on the Seven Seas Member Good Ship Chuckle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Aboard me scurvy vessel, giving orders to swashbucklers and landlubbers alike. Yaarg!
    Posts
    446

    Default Re: Fix My Boat

    Ummm... This question seems to easy to anwser.
    -Put the armada in port.
    -go to retrain tab in settlement
    -add the damaged ships to the retrain que
    -wait a turn, and vamoosh, they are brand new.

    If that doesn't do it, you may have a bug. :(
    When your mama jokes aren't funny anymore, who ya gonna call?
    Eshmunazar lol

    Laughin' out loud since 251 BC.

  4. #4

    Post Re: Fix My Boat

    You can also merge fleets if you desire a full unit and don't wish to send it back to port. Simply drop and drag a ship's unit card onto that of a ship of the same type.

    Merging adds the number of men in one unit onto that of another unit until the unit that is being merged into is full. When this stage is reached, merging stops and the remaining units which are unable to merge remain in their original unit. This method doesn't just apply to ships, but also applies to troops on the land.

    Dawn is nature's way of telling you to go back to bed

  5. #5
    Enforcer of Exonyms Member Barbarossa82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Englaland (and don't let the Normans tell you any different!)
    Posts
    575

    Default Re: Fix My Boat

    Quote Originally Posted by Omanes Alexandrapolites
    You can also merge fleets if you desire a full unit and don't wish to send it back to port. Simply drop and drag a ship's unit card onto that of a ship of the same type.

    Merging adds the number of men in one unit onto that of another unit until the unit that is being merged into is full. When this stage is reached, merging stops and the remaining units which are unable to merge remain in their original unit. This method doesn't just apply to ships, but also applies to troops on the land.

    There's also a hotkey, M, which auto-merges your troops into full units, with just one "remainder" left over
    Self-proclaimed winner of the "Member who Looks Most Like their Avatar" contest 2007

    My Armenian AAR

  6. #6
    Senior Member Senior Member Ibn-Khaldun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    5,431
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Fix My Boat

    Quote Originally Posted by Barbarossa82
    There is a weird bug that means the retraining won't work if your fleet is a full stack, if I remember correctly. So take one ship out temporarily.
    First thing, why would you ever recruit a full stack fleet??
    6-7 of your best ships can be enough (quinquiremes mostly)..
    Second thing, I have never heard of the bug you mentioned!!!

  7. #7
    sucks Member Punicus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, New York
    Posts
    110

    Default Re: Fix My Boat

    Quote Originally Posted by Ibn-Khaldun
    First thing, why would you ever recruit a full stack fleet??
    I agree, even a half stack of Biremes seems to get the job done. Boats seem to get experience a lot faster than armies, so just take your training against fleets with one ship or so and you'll be ready to face most fleets. Even so, I don't even recall the AI putting many ships into one fleet; I think that they like to have many small fleets, rather.

    Sorry for going off topic, but the question has been answered anyway.
    "In peace, sons bury their fathers. In war, fathers bury their sons." - Herodotus
    and proud.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Fix My Boat

    yh i never have full stacks of ships, usually an elite 1/4

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO