Thread: [EB] Walk/Run-Throughs...Fight-Throughs?

Default [EB] Walk/Run-Throughs...Fight-Throughs?

Hi all,

I'm no expert on the ground-level details of melee fighting of ancient times, so I write to y'all (that's the plural 2nd person...)

http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=415711

That thread is a discussion on the ethics, one might say, of a tactic that may have many names: walk-throughs, run-throughs, or as I see them, fight-throughs. Traditionally, in the online scene for EB I've met more of a consensus such as:

And so I ask, in light of the recent thread linked above, what are y'all's thoughts on the issue?

Thanks.
    EB Online Founder | Website
    Former Projects:
    - Vartan's EB Submod Compilation Pack

- Asia ton Barbaron (Armenian linguistics)
    - EB:NOM (Armenian linguistics/history)
    - Dominion of the Sword (Armenian linguistics/history, videographer)

Involuntary Gaesatae Member The Celtic Viking's Avatar

Default Re: Walk/Run-Throughs...Fight-Throughs?

Well, I personally doubt that they would have put themselves in Hollywood battle scenes, with 100% individual fighting, regardless of whether it's a frontal charge or one in the back. That is even if they could - tight space, spears being in the way and enemies prone to stabbing you in the back if you pass them would give some level of deterrent. Could you imagine the conversation? "Excuse me, sir, but could you scoot over just a little bit to the left? We're trying to infiltrate your lines and kill you from the inside. Thanks!"

I don't like it, and it's not like we need it to defeat phalanxes. The rules should stay as they are IMO.
    Last edited by The Celtic Viking; 01-10-2011 at 23:08.

Thanks TCV. I think along the same lines, but I would like to see what you and others think. Thanks for your input; I look forward to further insight by other players as well.
    Former Projects: