Results 1 to 30 of 30

Thread: Signature limits

  1. #1
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Signature limits

    Hi all.

    I've been told a few times now that my sig is getting cut off although it displays fine for me (it didn't at one time which was when I had it really long).
    So I went to cut it back a bit but of course I can't tell if it displays correctly now.

    What's the limit on signature length? I clicked the Read limits link and it only discussed pictures, not text, and there is no place telling you how many characters you can have or how many lines.

    Would be great if such a guideline was available when editing the sig and that you can see your actual sig instead of never knowing your sig is cut short.
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  2. #2
    Master of Few Words Senior Member KukriKhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    10,415

    Default Re: Signature limits

    See the FAQ, the paragraph under 'User Control Panel'. I think it's 700-keystroke limit (spaces and link-coding count).
    Be well. Do good. Keep in touch.

  3. #3
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Thanks for the link.
    When I personally saw my sig cut, it had ~620 characters.
    Then I cut it so I could see it properly, which was ~590 characters.
    At that time another forum member contacted me telling me the last 2 lines of my sig are not visible.
    Then I cut it again yesterday down to 538. Not sure if it displays properly now though.

    What it does tell me however is that the 700 char limit is not working properly as it cuts much earlier. Also, as you can see I am well below the 11 lines limit in terms of text even.

    Further, the link at the edit signature page needs to be updated.
    Last edited by FactionHeir; 05-14-2007 at 15:07.
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  4. #4
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Hello FactionHeir,

    It's also limited to some lines, I recall it to be 150 pixels. One can't make

    A

    S
    I
    G
    N
    A
    T
    U
    R
    E


    So, it's cut at what comes first.
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  5. #5
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Thanks for the reply TosaInu,

    Hmmm I just made a 300x150 pixel box in paint and dragged it next to what I see as my sig. Seems my sig is 155 pixels still or so in height. Do you see it being cut at the moment?
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  6. #6
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    This is what I see in RTW skin

    Want to have gunpowder, mongols and timurids appear when YOU want it? Playing on a different timescale and annoyed that you never see the new world?
    Find here the solution:
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?p=1531940
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for all your performance needs!
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  7. #7

    Post Re: Signature limits

    Hmm, strange, I see the whole signature in all skins excluding the skins which disable sigs.
    Last edited by Omanes Alexandrapolites; 05-14-2007 at 16:58.
    Dawn is nature's way of telling you to go back to bed

  8. #8
    Amphibious Trebuchet Salesman Member Whacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    in ur city killin ur militias
    Posts
    2,934

    Default Re: Signature limits

    This is what I see:

    *snip*
    __________________
    Want to have gunpowder, mongols and timurids appear when YOU want it? Playing on a different timescale and annoyed that you never see the new world?
    Find here the solution:
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?p=1531940
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for all your performance needs!
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?p=1531956
    Got laggy siege battles in particular? Then this is for you:
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?p=1502871

    *snip*

    "Justice is the firm and continuous desire to render to everyone
    that which is his due."
    - Justinian I

  9. #9
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Which skin and browser are you using Wacker?
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  10. #10
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    I see the same as Whacker and Omanes. (well I should, no? :p)

    I'm using IE 6.0 (don't like 7.0) and default skin.
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  11. #11
    Guardian of the Fleet Senior Member Shahed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leading the formation !
    Posts
    7,918

    Lightbulb Re: Signature limits

    I can see all of your sig, I think.

    I would recommend this as an improvement to your sig:

    -------------------
    Annoyed at laggy battles?
    Got laggy siege battles in particular?
    Want to have gunpowder, mongols and timurids appear when YOU want it?

    -------------------

    It's less text, more impactful, and has some minor aesthetic.
    Only (believe it or not) some people still don't know what blue underlined text is.

    If you want I can make you an animated gif. It will be more even more impactful and I think it's possible in ike 5-6KB file size.
    Oh... wait I don't know how to section it so it points to 3 different links. Well anyway if you want I can look it up. It's possible for sure.

    Cheers !
    Last edited by Shahed; 05-14-2007 at 21:47.
    A Gamecenter with a dedicated Total War fanbase!
    Check out our Facebook!
    Email: shahed@outpost.be


  12. #12
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Hmmm maybe there will be a smiley that points to its left/right holding a sign "click me" ?
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  13. #13
    Honorary Argentinian Senior Member Gyroball Champion, Karts Champion Caius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    I live in my home, don't you?
    Posts
    8,114

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Quote Originally Posted by TosaInu
    This is what I see in RTW skin

    Want to have gunpowder, mongols and timurids appear when YOU want it? Playing on a different timescale and annoyed that you never see the new world?
    Find here the solution:
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?p=1531940
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for all your performance needs!
    I can see the entire sig in the same skin TosaInu.

    Unless he changed it.




    Names, secret names
    But never in my favour
    But when all is said and done
    It's you I love

  14. #14
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    It must be a browsersetting for me.

    FireFox shows a bit more, but not all. It only displays the whole sig when the text size is decreased in the view menu.

    IE has the same option for text size, but it doesn't change anything for the forum. IE has another thingy hidden somewhere to override some CSS settings.

    Your signature displays differently and correctly in your profile.
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  15. #15
    Guardian of the Fleet Senior Member Shahed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leading the formation !
    Posts
    7,918

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Quote Originally Posted by FactionHeir
    Hmmm maybe there will be a smiley that points to its left/right holding a sign "click me" ?
    Errr...You'll have to explain that one to me, I'm afraid.
    You want me to make a smiley with a sign that says "Click Me!" ?
    A Gamecenter with a dedicated Total War fanbase!
    Check out our Facebook!
    Email: shahed@outpost.be


  16. #16
    Cynic Senior Member sapi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    4,970

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Sounds like it - it displays properly in both ff and ietab for me (though I have seen sigs cut off)
    From wise men, O Lord, protect us -anon
    The death of one man is a tragedy; the death of millions, a statistic -Stalin
    We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area -UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer

  17. #17
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Quote Originally Posted by Sinan
    Errr...You'll have to explain that one to me, I'm afraid.
    You want me to make a smiley with a sign that says "Click Me!" ?
    Pretty much, though I didn't quite point at you in specific. Was more a suggestion as to additional smileys that can be used/implemented

    Thanks for the replies all, I hope this topic will be useful for other people who got sig probs too
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  18. #18
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Err well I just amended my sig again. Anyone care to check whether it displays fine for them?

    Would be good to know how many lines are approx the max. The FAQ says 11, I had people tell me they didn't see past 6 and Tosa sees even less. Its 8 right now, was 7 when you guys had a look
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  19. #19
    Cynic Senior Member sapi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    4,970

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Works fine.

    Want gunpowder, mongols and timurids to appear when YOU do? Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world?
    Click here for the solution
    In need of VnV/ancillary fixes for 1.02? This file has all you need
    Annoyed at laggy battles?
    Check this thread out for all your performance needs!
    Got laggy siege battles in particular?
    Then this tutorial is for you
    I'd still strongly suggest that you change to this, though:
    Want gunpowder, mongols and timurids to appear when YOU do? Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world?
    Click here for the solution

    In need of VnV/ancillary fixes for 1.02? This file has all you need

    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for all your performance needs!

    Got laggy siege battles in particular? Then this tutorial is for you
    Last edited by sapi; 05-15-2007 at 12:41.
    From wise men, O Lord, protect us -anon
    The death of one man is a tragedy; the death of millions, a statistic -Stalin
    We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area -UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer

  20. #20
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Well, it won't let me put "Want gunpowder, mongols and timurids to appear when YOU do? Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world?" in one row. It auto splits it into 2.
    So overall it didn't quite look at nice
    Did put the other stuff into the same row though.

    Which one do you prefer?
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  21. #21
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    This is what I see now

    Want gunpowder, mongols and timurids to appear when YOU do? Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world?
    Click here for the solution
    In need of VnV/ancillary fixes for 1.02? This file has all you need
    Annoyed at laggy battles?
    Check this thread out for all your performance needs!
    Got laggy siege battles in particular?


    From head: it's a box limited to 150 pixels high. Depending on the used fontsize, that's good for ~10 lines of text. Obviously, it's not just how you set it, but it also depends on the browsersetting of the reader.
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  22. #22
    Cynic Senior Member sapi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    4,970

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Quote Originally Posted by FactionHeir
    Well, it won't let me put "Want gunpowder, mongols and timurids to appear when YOU do? Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world?" in one row. It auto splits it into 2.
    So overall it didn't quite look at nice
    Did put the other stuff into the same row though.

    Which one do you prefer?
    I like it.

    I actually intended to suggest things the way they are, and due to the way the quick reply box wrapped the text I did think that I'd posted that in two rows
    From wise men, O Lord, protect us -anon
    The death of one man is a tragedy; the death of millions, a statistic -Stalin
    We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area -UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer

  23. #23
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    FactionHeir,

    Could you please wait a bit with updating it?

    This is the problem: the box had to be limited. Not only in height but also width. The idea is (at least back then) that some people still work in 800*600 resolution. Wide sigs make posts stretch out and that means that people have to scroll now only up and down, but also left to right. That's a tiring business. A width of 500 was found to be ok.

    I don't see a trick yet to make it scale properly. 650 pixels are required to display the lines like you want. That makes scrolling necessary. Looking at experimental skin for a tweak, will then add it to the other skins (if something is found).
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  24. #24
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    630 pixels seems to work, not 100% perfect for .. hmm.

    Grinding..
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  25. #25
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Hello,

    It should work better and in all skins now.
    First a mistake: it isn't nor was 150 pixels, but 200. Images are limited to 150 though.

    It is still a box, but now only limited in height. So, people do not have to scroll through long topics when the settings are dodged.

    Pictures are limited to 150*500 wide, since pictures do not scale. Text in signatures is no longer limited to width though. It will scale with the window, just like the normal posts.

    Please post about problems you experience.
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  26. #26
    Guardian of the Fleet Senior Member Shahed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leading the formation !
    Posts
    7,918

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Quote Originally Posted by FactionHeir
    Err well I just amended my sig again. Anyone care to check whether it displays fine for them?

    Would be good to know how many lines are approx the max. The FAQ says 11, I had people tell me they didn't see past 6 and Tosa sees even less. Its 8 right now, was 7 when you guys had a look
    Hey FH it looks much better. But as I mentioned, IMHO it can do with less text, the less the better, more impact. It does look great though. To improve it further I'd cut it to links only and add the smiley.

    Hi Tosa,

    Do you have a smiley that says "Click me!" ?

    Ja mata.

    EDIT: and BTW your signature is working. It's quite freaky actually it has the alphabet in correct sequence * 5 (!).
    Last edited by Shahed; 05-15-2007 at 14:01.
    A Gamecenter with a dedicated Total War fanbase!
    Check out our Facebook!
    Email: shahed@outpost.be


  27. #27
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    OK I just did some final amends to the sig now that Tosa has finished his much appreciated tweaking.

    Quite nifty this scaling signature. Was playing with my window width and could see all kinds of combinations till I decided to make it uniform. The increased width limit is very welcome!

    Sinan I was thinking of making it only clickable links but it was looking a bit odd especially for the first one with timescales, so I decided for a more uniform format. Also, Tosa's sig has the alphabet 5 times but added 2 letters to some of the next ones. Maybe some kind of code that wants to be deciphered? :D
    Last edited by FactionHeir; 05-15-2007 at 14:09.
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  28. #28
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    Something like


    Sinan?
    Last edited by TosaInu; 05-15-2007 at 14:52.
    Ja mata

    TosaInu

  29. #29
    Relentless Bughunter Senior Member FactionHeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8,115

    Default Re: Signature limits

    I was thinking along the lines of the smiley but with one hand pointed to either left or right and holding a sign in the other hand that reads "click me".
    The smiley itself could also have this animation:
    Actually best if the smiley was holding the sign not like in the example but like holding a card in the direction it is not pointing (like without the stick, and thus hand on card). That way it won't stretch the height and will use the width.
    Last edited by FactionHeir; 05-15-2007 at 14:56.
    Want gunpowder, mongols, and timurids to appear when YOU do?
    Playing on a different timescale and never get to see the new world or just wanting to change your timescale?
    Click here to read the solution
    Annoyed at laggy battles? Check this thread out for your performance needs
    Got low fps during siege battles in particular? This tutorial is for you
    Want to play M2TW as a Vanilla experience minus many annoying bugs? Get VanillaMod Visit the forum Readme
    Need improved and faster 2H animations? Download this! (included in VanillaMod 0.93)

  30. #30
    Nur-ad-Din Forum Administrator TosaInu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    12,326

    Default Re: Signature limits

    I may understand FactionHeir.

    I ran into a new set and while it doesn't completely match the current style, it's added. Quite a few are duplicates in a new style. https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/misc....t=79&submit=Go

    Ja mata

    TosaInu

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO