Thread: College Textbook Buying

American since 2012 Senior Member AntiochusIII's Avatar

Default College Textbook Buying

AntiochusIII needs advice!

To keep it short, practically, I'm a n00b at everything college. And as for the topic at hand, the only advice that I heard (and adhered to) is to buy used book if I can. Of course, I bought every "required" books they say I'll need, just like a good Freshman (though I refuse to buy "recommended" ones). Now that first semester is over (with surprisingly good grades, huh) and the second about to begin, I've learned a few things about textbooks; namely:

- a few teachers never ever use them.

- sometimes I can get away with not even buying one, even if listed as "required." Just pretend that you're one of those smart people who can get away with this kind of stuff. And the internet is a big place. Besides, I'm a Freshman. The classes I take are nowhere near as deep and complex as some of the higher ones.

- but some ARE required and used.

However, there are a lot of things this young Padawan has yet to learn, and here I am begging the bOrg for collective advice!

- I've looked around the 'net a bit, and find that apparently Amazon has a few books listed cheaper that what might be in the bookstore. Question is: is it safe, financially? (Now, I never bought online from "private" vendors before, but I'm not that dumb; the basics of online marketplaces aren't completely lost on me. Sometimes). Will I be able to turn the textbooks back into the Uni bookstore if I didn't buy it from them? Or do I need to reuse Amazon?