Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Spear and Shield: A Saba AAR

Counter-Revolutionary Member BerkeleyBoi's Avatar

Default Spear and Shield: A Saba AAR

They call us Hanatim Kushim, levy spearmen from the lands of Ethiopia. They gave me a helmet, a shield, and a spear. They told me that starting that day, I am no longer a tiller of the land. I am a soldier for the great King.

This is not a story of lords and noblemen. I had no desire for glory in battle nor did I expect to survive the battles that came. However, survive I did and glory I achieved. The empire of the Saba grew and I as a man grew with it. So this is my story, a story of a man with a spear and a shield.

A Few Notes: This is my first AAR, so please be kind. Also, English is not my first language, so there may be some errors. I am not good at taking screen shots so my apologies in advance. I also will be updating as I play, so things might come to an abrupt end.

Settings and rules: VH/M, huge setting, no banners or green arrows. Auto-win only used when odds are 2-1 or more in my favor.

Default Re: Spear and Shield: A Saba AAR

Chapter One: Lucky to be Alive

My name is Dawit, son of Desta born in the spring of the year 286. I tilled the land with my father and brothers in the lands of Diamat. My mother passed away when I was born, perhaps that is why my father has been cold to me since I can remember. The light-skinned men came to our village a year ago. They told the village leader that men were needed to fight, as the great king will reclaim the land that was once his ancestors. I was sent by my father, alongside my elder brother Dahnay, to serve this man. His name was Yazil Il Watar, the great king of Saba.